Mountman's Bio Page

Where do I start?

Well, let's start at the beginning...

The year was 1956. 

The Day was April 5th.

The time was 8:00AM.

Well if you did your math,

that would make me 48 years old.

I'm 6'2", Dark Blonde thinning hair, Blue eyes, Stash/goatee. Weight changes with the seasons. I am a Gay White male. (And Proud of it!)

     I grew up in Malden, West Virginia. Which is a small town outside of Charleston. I have two brothers, Gene and Steven. Gene was 16 when I was born and he joined the navy when I was 2, then got married when I was 4 or 5. Steven was a year and 9 months older than me. Strange huh? I could have been conceived on his birthday.
    My Parents bought a cabin in Dunmore WV when I was just a little over a year old. Which is in Pocahontas County. Some of my favorite times/memories are of that little 2 room cabin in the woods. Mother always said if we ran an ad for it, the heading would be "Two Rooms and a Path". Steven and I grew up going to camp every weekend in the summer and there was a couple of times that we closed the house in Malden and stayed at camp for a month at a time.
     I didn't grow up rich but we never wanted for anything... well I take that back, as kids we always wanted something... that was our job.
     I had a typical childhood with typical childhood sicknesses... I did have pneumonia when I was less than a year old. I had such a high fever that I went into convulsions. At about the age of 5 I had the croup (sp?). I don’t know the technical name for it. I can remember that I ate Neapolitan ice cream and watched “Top Cat” the cartoon... It was a prime time show then. Now you can see it on the Cartoon Network. I went to bed then about 2 in the morning I started coughing, and couldn’t stop. Mother called the local Dr. and he said to put me in a tent with the humidifier. Even though I was sick and couldn’t stop coughing, I thought it was sorta neat when my parents sat me on a chair and put other chairs around me and created the tent with sheets... It was hot in there with the humidifier going. When that didn’t work the Dr. said to take me to the hospital. I remember Mother driving and Daddy holding me wrapped in a blanket. The next thing I remember was waking up in a bed with all this plastic around me with invisible rain on me. Thank God that Mother was there when I woke up. Needless to say I was scared shitless. I remember after I got better I got a set of Flintstone’s Building Blocks. That was the rage toy of that time. 
     Daddy had a Cerebral hemorrhage in 1958. I don’t remember this other than what I was told later. Daddy worked for Union Carbide from the age of 16 in 1933 till he was laid off in 1961 or 1962. This is when Mother went to work at the Post Office. Daddy went to work at the Kanawha County School board as a insulator.

    Growing up in the late 50's and through the 60's, 70's, and all the way to now  was and has been a wonderful time to grow up. I feel that growing up never stops. Even as I get older there are things that I can't or wouldn't do that I did earlier in life. I am still growing up. Mother always said that I was her baby and with my attitude I would never 'Grow Up'.... How true those words are. I still act like a kid when I go to Disney world or any amusement park. I still watch and love a good cartoon. One of the best movies I've seen in a while is Shrek. I don't know if that's spelled right. My spell checker didn't help me out at all on that one. 

     Needless to say I love the outdoors especially the woods and mountains! I don't get to the mountains as much as I would like to. 

    I have lots of stories to tell. As I think of one to put down I will be adding to this page. It might turn into a group of different pages It might stay the same. I don't know yet. 

Professionally I work in the Mental Health/Developmental field. I am a Behavior Analyst. I help people be the best that they can be!

Return to

Copyright 1997-2003 Mountman. All rights reserved.